Panterachat

It is currently Mon Jul 16, 2018 6:26 pm Full Width Fixed Width

All times are UTC - 5 hours [ DST ]




Post new topic Reply to topic  [ 5 posts ] 
Author Message
 Post subject: Anyone record at their home? What's your setup like?
PostPosted: Sun Jan 28, 2018 1:11 pm 
Mouth For War
User avatar

Joined: Fri Feb 11, 2005 8:03 pm
Posts: 3064
Location: Chicago
Rebuilding a recording studio in my home and curious what kind of setups you guys use, if any?

15 years ago I used digital recorders that saved to memory cards. Now I hear almost everything is done directly through computers

 Profile  
   
 Post subject: Re: Anyone record at their home? What's your setup like?
PostPosted: Wed Feb 14, 2018 6:15 pm 
filthy degenerate
User avatar

Joined: Fri Feb 11, 2005 10:28 pm
Posts: 28824
Location: Columbus ohio
I too am interested in recording again. I used to use a tascam 424 four track.

_________________
rObsessed!

 Profile  
   
 Post subject: Re: Anyone record at their home? What's your setup like?
PostPosted: Sat Apr 14, 2018 12:41 pm 
Veganazi
User avatar

Joined: Mon Sep 03, 2007 4:47 pm
Posts: 5650
Location: California soil
I've got an Alesis Multimix 16 channel firewire interface. It's cool because it's also a fully functional hardware mixer you can use live. I'm still using Cubase SL3 for windows xp, and a few VST instruments like Battery for drum triggers. I run the triggers MIDI instead of audio so editing a mistake is as easy as dragging the mouse, and it cuts out the process of sample replacement.

_________________
Somewhat Damaged wrote:
hektik, with all due respect,

 Profile  
   
 Post subject: Re: Anyone record at their home? What's your setup like?
PostPosted: Mon Apr 23, 2018 1:45 am 
filthy degenerate
User avatar

Joined: Fri Feb 11, 2005 10:28 pm
Posts: 28824
Location: Columbus ohio
Sky Black wrote:
I've got an Alesis Multimix 16 channel firewire interface. It's cool because it's also a fully functional hardware mixer you can use live. I'm still using Cubase SL3 for windows xp, and a few VST instruments like Battery for drum triggers. I run the triggers MIDI instead of audio so editing a mistake is as easy as dragging the mouse, and it cuts out the process of sample replacement.


Sarcasm is not always obvious in text format. Do you really use xp and a FireWire cable because that's a setup that has worked for you for quite some time......or are you just joking around?

_________________
rObsessed!

 Profile  
   
 Post subject: Re: Anyone record at their home? What's your setup like?
PostPosted: Mon Apr 23, 2018 12:42 pm 
Veganazi
User avatar

Joined: Mon Sep 03, 2007 4:47 pm
Posts: 5650
Location: California soil
Yes, I do. Firewire has always been superior to USB and at fhe time I bought the interface it was pretty common. All my shit runs on xp and I don't take this seriously enough replace everything.

_________________
Somewhat Damaged wrote:
hektik, with all due respect,

 Profile  
   
Display posts from previous:  Sort by  
Post new topic Reply to topic  [ 5 posts ] 

All times are UTC - 5 hours [ DST ]


Who is online

Users browsing this forum: No registered users and 3 guests


You cannot post new topics in this forum
You cannot reply to topics in this forum
You cannot edit your posts in this forum
You cannot delete your posts in this forum

Search for:
Jump to:  
Powered by phpBB  © 2000, 2007 phpBB Group www.forumimages.co.uk
The teamDelete all board cookies • All times are UTC - 5 hours [ DST ]